Investment Committee

The Investment Commitee is made up of 14 independent, experienced angel investors with either entrepreneurial or institutional investment backgrounds (or both). The Investment Committee is quorate at three members, but up to five could consider any single investment proposal.


Simon Acland

Simon is a Director of two Venture Capital Trusts managed by Triple Point, and Chair of Powervault. He was previously Managing Director of Quester and was a Director of the British Business Angels’ Association. Simon is a Trustee of Plantlife, a wild plant conservation charity and is a published author. 

Michael Anderson

Michael ran a printing business for 12 years. He has been a Chair, Director and investor in many early-stage companies. He is a mentor for The Prince’s Trust and a Trustee of The Cranfield Trust. Michael studied Law at Cambridge University and has a Sloan Masters from London Business School.    

Alistair Arkley

Alistair is a serial entrepreneur in the hospitality sector and a Board member of Seraphim Capital and Hotspur Capital.. He is Chair of Steelite PLC, and an NED at S. A. Brain Ltd. In 2006 Alistair was awarded a CBE in recognition of his services to the regeneration of the North East of England.

Nick Badman

Nick is Chair of the Centre for Entrepreneurship at Cass Business School. He previously had an 18 year career with 3i, becoming UK Managing Director and a Senior Partner in their pan-European buyout business. Nick originally qualified as a lawyer with Clifford Chance in London.

John Bates

John is a Director and Co-Founder of Sussex Place Ventures and the former Head of Entrepreneurship at London Business School. He is currently Director of Cambridge Management Group and WFL Media Ltd. John has a BSc from the University of Nottingham and an MBA from Harvard Business School.

Simon Blakey

Simon is the CoFounder of Avonmore Developments. He is on the Board of ParcelBright, buzzmove and Glow Digital Media, and Chair of Specle. Simon is on the Board for the Sainsbury Centre for Visual arts and is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Academy of Music.

John Caines

John is Operating Partner at Angels4Angels LLP and former Chair of SWAIN (South West Angel Network). John is currently Chair of Kallidus, Zeta Compliance Group and Etech. John has an MBA from London Business School and was awarded an OBE in 2009 for services to entrepreneurship.

Peter Cowley

Peter had an entrepreneurial career and is now the Investment Director of Martlet, the Marshalls of Cambridge fund and is on the Board of Cambridge Angels. He has Founded over 12 companies and has invested in over 30 startups, and is, or has been, Chair, Treasurer and Trustee of several charities. Peter is the 2014/15 UKBAA Angel Investor of the Year.

Nelson Gray

Nelson is a Chartered Accountant and Chair of Firth Ventures. He is Special Projects Director for LINC Scotland and advises a number of organisations, including the World Bank, on the development of angel activity internationally. In 2008 Nelson was awarded European Business Angel of the Year.

Stephen Houston

Stephen is a Northern Ireland based technology investor with the Halo – the Northern Ireland Business Angel Network. He is Executive Chairman of QuizFortune and Lead Angel Investor for the Volcano Syndicate. Stephen is a mentor with Invest Northern Ireland’s Propel Programme and was the first recipient of the Halo Angel Investor of the Year Award.

Alan MacKay

Alan is a Founder Partner of private equity firm GHO Capital, a specialist investor in the healthcare sector. His prior roles were at 3i Group and at Hermes GPE. He is a former chairman of the BVCA, and previously chaired its Responsible Investment Advisory Board. In 2018 he served on the advisory groups to the Wates Corporate Governance Principles for Private Companies. He has been an angel investor since 2010.

Valerie Marshall

Valerie is an NED of Baronsmead VCT and CEO of Stratagem Corporate Finance & Strategy. She is an NED of Fusion Lifestyle, Treasurer of the British Science Association, and past Chair of the Council of the University of Kent. Valerie holds an Economics degree from Cambridge and an MBA from London Business School.

Matt Mead

Matt is Chief Investment Officer at Mercia Fund Management. He was previously Chief Investment Officer at Nesta and a Partner at 3i, and is currently on the venture committee of the BVCA. Matt is an ACA qualified accountant.

Neil Murphy

Neil is a Co-Founder of Vine Street Capital. Formerly, he was one of the three Founder Partners of Close Brothers Private Equity and has been a private equity investor since 1986. Neil is Chairman of Lymington Precision Engineers Ltd and PetroMedia Ltd, a non-executive member of the Investment Committee of Albion Ventures and a director of two angel backed businesses.